gmailIf you ever wished you could take back an email after you presses “Send”, your wish has been granted. Gmail has just announced an “undo send” option for its Gmail users. This option has been available in a trial version, but it has now gone mainstream.

It’s easy to send an email to the wrong person. I once offended a co-worker by sending them an email that was meant for my husband. A friend of mine got in real trouble when she wrote an email to her sister complaining about her mother, but accidently sent it to both her sister and her mother.

You have to implement this option to be able to use it. Click on the icon which looks like a cog om the upper right hand area of Gmail and choose “Settings”. Then scroll about midway through the General tab. Put a check mark in front of “Undo Send” Then choose a delay time from 5 to 30 seconds.  Be sure to scroll to the bottom of the screen and click on “Save Changes.”

Once you have enabled this option, after you press “send” you will see a yellow strip at the top of the page where you can “undo” the send for the amount of time you stipulated.